MLK – Let Freedom Ring

Back in the Summer of 2015, we took a trip to Atlanta, Georgia. I have been to ATL many times in my life. I love that city. That same week was suppose to be the Wyoming trip but it had to be postponed and moved up to 2016. So we threw something together since we ended up having KT that week. And Atlanta it was. While I was extremely bummed about the Wy trip, there is a silver lining to everything. On this Atlanta trip we took KT to the National Center for Civil and Human Rights. We also went to the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site. We did many things while in Atlanta but these will forever remain with me. And I think they will remain with her.

It is no secret I love history and I love the South. I love to drown myself with knowledge and the past. My mind is very broad and so is my love for many things. It is also no secret how much I admire, love and respect Dr. King. The one human being and public figure who didn’t divide people. He loved all. The one, I believe, could reach across the aisles today.  He saw hope in everyone. I know he wasn’t a perfect man. But he put good back in this world. He changed America. He is the American Dream to me. The one dream I wish  we could all have again.

I listen to his 1963 I Have Dream speech pretty regularly. I started off this morning with it. Then followed it with the “I’ve Been To The Mountaintop” speech – his final speech. (He was killed the following day.) I also listened to “The Drum Major Instinct” sermon and also a Christmas sermon both he did at Ebenezer Baptist Church… his church where he was a pastor. He just has a way with words and delivery. Not many people can do that. He talks. You listen…. and feel.

So in honor of him today – Georgia’s favorite son, our leader for civil rights, Christ follower, the man who taught us to dream and then follow through. A beautiful legacy that lives today and will live forever, here are some photos from that special trip  back in July.

 

II1A0222-X3

II1A0197-X3

II1A0230-X3

When we allow freedom to ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual…. Free at last! Free at last! Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!

Tears.

Leave a Reply

