Wild Horse Annie

What the world needs is another Wild Horse Annie.

annie

Over the weekend I watched a documentary called Wild Horses & Renegades. I had been wanting to see it for sometime but held out buying it (even though I wanted a copy of it to keep) thinking I would eventually watch it online or see it on TV. So finally got to see it. It was a well done piece. It shared the wild horse advocate’s stories quite well… along with the wild horse’s story. Some of the film is not for the faint of heart. I, myself, had to turn my head at least once. James Klinehart did a moving and extraordinary job. I’m forever thankful for seeing his work.

Over the last few weeks, the struggle between wild horse advocates and the BLM has been more in the spotlight. Thanks to NBC and now The New York Times. I watched the video they released today. It was a great, great piece. Watch it here:

http://www.nytimes.com/video/2013/06/17/booming/100000002284527/wild-horses-no-home-on-the-range.html

And this was the video NBC aired a month ago. 

The videos, documentaries, the articles… they do good. They do. They shed light on things that we, as the general public, don’t know about. I love to see it pushed in the national spot. Some days I don’t know what they answer is to all of this. I’m just a East coast girl sitting from far, far away and all I know is I want those American treasures protected. I want them to remain with their families. I want them to remain the symbol and pride of the American West. I want them to remain wild and free. Roam their land with resilience and I’m not sure why we as American’s don’t support and back them more than we do. Wild horses… they have been the artistry of our American land, our history books, photographs, paintings, films, the cowboy life, the heritage of the American Indian and I could go on and on. But more than anything, they represent FREEDOM. Like one once said, they have once upon saved the man. It is time for the man to save the horse.

I’m not naive to think that the general public would feel this is a HUGE problem in our country right now. I know there are 10 million other things we have problems with in our country right now and that would stand above this. But I think if the general public understood the issue out West, I truly believe the general public would stop and listen. They may give it a chance and maybe even stand up for the horse. Sign a simple petition, educate or write their state officials. We have so many simple steps we can take in this country for legislation.

I hope there is way all involved can find a way for the wild horses, the ranchers and their livestock to co-exist on public lands. I have hope. Lots of it. I personally will be traveling out West one day and I want to gaze from a distance at them and their breathtaking beauty. I want our kids.. kids to be able to do the same thing. But they need the help of man and woman to make sure they stay around.

But back to Wild Horse Annie, she was the voice at one time for the wild horses. And really still is today I believe. A woman in 1950 who stood up for them. She did the work. She got the bills and laws passed to protect them. One simple moment of her seeing a truck carrying way too many horses jammed together to a slaughterhouse and seeing blood dripping from the back of the truck changed a lot. She was their soldier and she campaigned for them. My hats off to her. She is truly inspiring to me.

As always, check out the AWHP website. (American Wild Horse Prevention) If this has interest to you, sign their petition. Add your name  –  http://stepinsally.com/

Notes: We have more wild horses living in these BLM holding facilities than we have living in the wild. And please take notice of the taxpayers money that is spent as well. Search through the AWHP site. http://wildhorsepreservation.org/ or listen and watch those videos posted above.

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Wild Horse Annie

  1. The difficulty in managing the wild horse and burro program is that Wild Horse Annie was the ONE person whom could speak on behalf of the wild horses and burros. After Annie’s death in 1977, numerous organizations (some sincere, some disreputable) created their own “save the wild horses” organization. This creates a problem because the Bureau of Land Management cannot deal with a myriad of organizations, each claiming to be Wild Horse Annie’s successor. As a result, the horse groups argue amongst themselves and the Bureau of Land Management continues “business as usual” when it comes to management of the wild horses and burros.

    Alan Kania
    Author of “Wild Horse Annie: Velma Johnston and Her Fight to Save the Wild Mustang” (University of Reno Press, 2012-2013).

Leave a Reply

